Kids’ Coding Club

Standard

Hi guys!

Ok so we have to admit we all use the internet on all devices and we use it dozens of times a day (don’t deny it! 🙂 ). Adults usually use it for work, and children mostly use it for games. But my point is, we love using the internet for many things,  but even more fun is creating stuff, and seeing how much you can accomplish!

You can create lots of stuff using code (not the language spies use, NO, but the programming kind). So you may think that programming is not for kids, but that’s not true, even you have probably used it before! Code can be as simple as scratch, loads of you have used (or are still using) this in primary School. Some people might know another type called Python (not the snake). These are only two programming languages from many others. Ok I’m probably boring some people out of their minds because I’m rambling on. Anyway… quite a long while ago from now I used Scratch to make simple games (I made one to help me with my multiplication in Year 3 or 4). Scratch (https://scratch.mit.edu/) allows you to build games or animations from lego-like blocks like this:

scratchblocks

The more you learn here, the more you enjoy creating your own projects.

But just recently went 3 times to this really cool coding course to TuringLab (http://www.turinglab.co.uk/) at Imperial College*. I really enjoyed learning Python and creating projects like Rainbow coloured Donuts! I even made a fractal tree, Here it is:

 

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 21.02.13.png

Turing Lab is run by funny and engaging Computer Science graduates from Imperial College. They all have a positive attitude and they helped me and a lot of other people with our code if we struggled. Their classes got extremely popular and it was very hard to get a place!

I loved it so much that I asked them if they could run a small coding club at my house for me and my friends, they said yes! They have experience in running smaller groups which are called Huddles! You can read about them here: huddles.turinglab.co.uk This is where kids get together for 2 hours to code.

So we are going to run a club for a few weeks (snacks and drinks included, don’t you guys worry! 🙂 ) The club will cost £20 for a 2hour session.

Comment down below if you would be interested in coming to these sessions (By the way this is only in London, sorry other people! 😦 )

*If you’re asking: What the hell is Imperial College? Well, Imperial College is a university which focuses on Science and Technology. 

One response »

  1. Hey Maja, I love your blog! I was actually linked here by What Lexie Loves and thought that I would come and check out your blog as you said you were a kid. It’s amazing that you love to code! The amount of amazing things you can create is wondrous, isn’t it? I read your other post (about Halloween), that was interesting. I’m going into high school next year so it was good to know that there might be a delay in blogging. Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

